B.C. Southern Interior Chapter

Driver of the Year Award

To encourage members to drive their Studebakers, our chapter awards a trophy (sometimes trophies) at year end to a Driver of the Year.  A member can earn points in the following ways:

  • Driver of the Year TrophyLocal meet mileage is a record of the miles traveled in a Studebaker to and from the BC Southern Interior Chapter meetings.  We continue to count miles rather than kilometers because our Studebakers are of that era.
  • Related SDC mileage is a record of the miles traveled in a Studebaker to and from any car meets that your Studebaker attends OTHER THAN our local chapter’s monthly meets.
  • Mileage points are a total of the points awarded for the total miles traveled to local and related SDC meets.  1 point for every 20 miles is the criterion.  Example: 1000 total miles = 50 points.
  • Attendance points are awarded for attending BC Southern Interior Chapter monthly meetings – 5 points for attending or 10 points for hosting.
  • Total points is the addition of mileage and attendance points.

A large traveling trophy is awarded to the person with the most total points.  He also receives a keeper trophy since the traveling trophy has to be returned at year end.  A second keeper trophy is awarded to the person who has accumulated the most miles in a Studebaker traveling to and from just chapter monthly meetings.  Some years, one person is the winner in both categories (the high number in local meet mileage and/or the high number in total points).

Note:  Points are awarded to the driver of the Studebaker, not necessarily the owner.  So, all you have to do is show up, even if you have to borrow a Studebaker to drive.

2017 Studebaker Driver of the Year Award

We had two awards of a plaque and $100 in 2017:

  • Lynn and Diana Fletcher - 3,190 miles driven to local meetings and related SDC events
  • Corrie and Colleen vanDyk - 953 Miles driven to local meetings

Members logged 6,767 local meet miles and 9,070 related SDC miles for a total of 15,837 miles in 2017.

Here are the top 10 drivers for 2017, the 40th year of the award:


Total Points


Family Name

1 Fletcher, Lynn & Diana 204
2 vanDyk, Corrie & Colleen 175
3 Douglas, Chuck & Karen 172
4 Koo, Gary & Jeannie York 111
5 Standen, Eric & Shirley 110
6 Muir, Darren, Pam, Jason & Landon 95
7 Van Blerk, Colin & Anne 70
8 Parker, Don & Lynn 67
9 Curtis, Brian & Barb 62
10 Wiens, David & Colleen 54